The Horror of it All!

A new Horror blog from my buddy Skip Shea, he has been on the show and the director of Microcinema and They Serve Breakfast Here All Day.

skipshea

Horror thrives as the outlaw genre of filmmaking. For some reason it never gets the respect it is fully due. I’m not sure that it matters to the fans. But when I tell some of my friends I’m making horror movies, they usually say, “Why?”

Why indeed. So I wondered that myself. What is it that attracts me to this genre?

Part of the reason is the thrill of being frightened. Two movies come to mind from my childhood. Not from the Classic Universal Horror Film Catalogue, although “Frakenstiein” and “Dracula” certainly helped me love the genre.

The films were Terrence Young’s“Wait Until Dark” and Antonio Margheriti’s“Horror Castle”.

I was 8 years old in 1968 when I saw “Wait Until Dark” with my mother. I’m sure other people were with us, but I don’t remember who. We must have been visiting her sister, my Aunt Betty…

View original post 424 more words

Leave a Reply

