Neon Genesis Evangelion

image

At my local Bestbuy I learned Neon Genesis Evangelion 3.33 had been released on blu ray and I had to obtain the next chapter in the enhanced anime series. First though  I thought I share with you a memory flash back.

I was going thru my local flea market in Charlton MA back in 2004 and on a table were the first 6 vol of an anime show I had only seen commercials for and heard very little about. I decided to take a chance after several conversations with other anime fans who told me I was missing out.
I snatched up all 6 after making a deal with the vendor, and it exposed me to the most adult giant robot show of all time. I hunted down the other remaining vol to finish the show. I never got into the manga in which its based on.

3 young pilots living in post apocalyptic  Japan pilot  giant robots called Eva to defend their country against  demonic looking creatures with so much mystery  and intriguing  plot points you can see why it’s such a beloved show. The main character Shinji  lives in this harem style plot line in his apartment where he is the only male living with three gorgeous woman two teenage girls snd his handler. All the while his father is the head of the Eva program and is as much a  father figure as Darth Vader was.

The reason I bring it up on Radio of Horror is its the darkest anime sci fi show I have ever watched. Yes there is horror shows and Demon rape shows like hentai. But look at the over all flowing stpry narative of this one snd really get a sence of a foreboding snd Sinister plot.

Now recently the show has been released in these movie formats sets called 1.11 2.22 and 3.33. They condense the shows bigger plot points into movies that might be easier for the average viewer to handel.
This is enhanced by superior  animation and graphic touch up with CGI  being used to enhance the special effects.

3.33 You can not redo Is the newest Editon out now and if you never watched the show or were very confused by it’s story telling I recommend this set.

Leave a Reply

